Durham on WTBS, the Braves … and life

Our good friend, Paul Durham of the Wilson Daily Times, posted this well-written blog entry about the Atlanta Braves leaving WTBS.

My take: Like Paul, I grew up a Braves fan, primarily because of Skip Caray and TBS bringing us the games. Unlike Paul, we didn’t have cable in my hometown of Thurmond, N.C. Every chance I could get to see the Braves on TBS, though, I did.

Paul’s entry is another in a long line from a guy who takes the time to put well-written blog entries up on a regular basis. Go check it out.

2 Responses to “Durham on WTBS, the Braves … and life”

  1. Paul Durham Says:

    No cable?!? Great Scott, Hanks! How did you make it this far in life?

    What I didn’t write in that blog entry was how much I think the decision stinks. The Time-Warner suit quoted in that AJC feature used words like “brand” and “profile” when describing the decision to take TBS to a national baseball schedule and leave the Braves behind.

    Here’s hoping the team will still be easy to find on SportsSouth or some other cable channel around here. The fans who live outside the Southeast (and there are many as anyone who has been to a Braves road game can surely attest) are just going to be out of luck.

  2. Mr. Awesome Says:

    I stumbled across that blog the other day when I was surfing the Wilson Daily Times’ site to look for stories on Mr. Hill’s move from KHS to the Wilson County school system.

    It was a great column and had me feeling pretty nostalgic. I remember staying up late watching games on TBS all through my teen years. That station is the reason I’m such a fan and why I remember the big moments in Braves’ history like the worst-to-first finish in ’91 or Sid Bream’s mad dash in ’92 or David Justice’s home run to clinch the ’95 World Series — even if those moments were aired on other networks.

    It won’t feel right watching a game without the regular Braves’ announcers calling the game. They may have occasionally been “homers,” but that’s what made them so great to listen to — they knew their team, and their cared about it.

    Good blog entry, indeed.

Leave a comment